And the days, and the days they seem like forever…but forever isn’t ever enough!

I’m sitting here happily eating cheesecake and rocking out to Streetlight Manifesto, who I’m seeing in concert in a few days! They are one of the best bands to see the live – the energy is insane and everything is fast and loud. My favorite shows are the ones where the audience is one giant mass jumping together and singing every word without any self consciousness, and Streetlight shows are entirely like that. I actually thought I’d never see them live again since they announced they’d stop touring last year, but here they are again!

(Audio isn’t great, but this video gives a great feel of their live shows!)

I’m also feeling a little guilty because I’m supposed to be working on my “most meaningful” activities for the AMCAS…I started my description for one of my two chosen activities, but it was surprisingly hard to spill my thoughts into writing. I think it’s because I have so much to say about that activity, which was mentoring pregnant/parenting teenagers, but I have to choose only the most important points to get across. Anyway, my ballet school is closed next week so I am dedicating almost every single evening to finishing up my application before June 2nd submissions! I can’t believe primaries are almost over. I know that once I get those in, I have no time to lose – I’m going to start pre-writing secondaries.

Ballet tonight was really fun and a great work out. I love that I can feel myself getting stronger and my balance improving every class. My reminder of the day is the use my elbows more when moving my arms to achieve more fluid movement.

Ugh, I know I’m jumping from topic to topic, but I’m all of a sudden excited for a bunch of things. Maybe it’s the sugar rush. This weekend I may be hiking Cucamonga Peak in Southern California. It’s 11.6 miles out & back with 4,300 feet of elevation gain. I’m a little worried about my knees because last time I completed a hike with similar elevation gain, they were sore afterwards, which has never happened to me before. My legs have certainly been sore after hikes before, but not my actual knee joints. It was probably because my quads were dead on the way down, so my knees were absorbing the impact of each step. If I do this hike, I think I’ll bring hiking poles for the downhill.

Have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

