Goals for the near future (1.5 years)

 Credit: Nat Geo

1. Hike Half Dome in Yosemite

This may become a reality soon! My boyfriend and his family go to Yosemite every summer, and he invited me along this year. The first time I visited this beautiful, unreal national park was in March of 2013 with my boyfriend on our spring break. The campgrounds were pretty empty at that time of year, and apparently it’s way more fun during the summer when it’s busy. We hiked up to Nevada Falls that time, but I’ve wanted to do Half Dome for a while now. It’ll be a huge test of physical endurance for me.

2. Run a 10k

So the past few months I’ve gone from not being able to run for 60 seconds without feeling incredibly out of breath to completing a 5k (3.1 miles). I did the Couch to 5k program, and now I need to work on running consistently. When I had the goal of getting up to 5k, it was easy to get up early and get one step closer to that achievement, but now that it’s over, I need something else to keep me motivated.

3. Perform ballet / Dance en pointe

I really want to perform in a ballet production. My studio has an end of semester showcase, but it’s on Memorial Day Weekend and I am going to be out of town during the big rehearsals and the actual performances so I opted out. We’re doing the Nutcracker next semester though, so I hope I’ll be able to participate then, although that’s in the middle of med school interview season. Oh well, I’m going for it!

And to dance en pointe has been a dream since I was a teenager. My teacher actually told me at the beginning of a class last month that I could start pointe if I wished, but I don’t think I’m near ready for it in terms of strength. Not sure how he came to the conclusion that I was ready, but even though I trust his judgment, I trust my body as well and am going to put that goal on hold until I feel ready. When I danced from ages 12-14, I really wanted to go en pointe, but this time around I wanted to focus less on that, and instead enjoy ballet for what it is – a beautiful form of dance regardless of the tools we use to do it.

I’m going to keep this short and sweet (kind of long already…). What are some of your goals?

Leave a Reply

